Livestock guardian dog questions from a newbie

zeb2014

Just born
Reaction score
Hello all! I am VERY new to livestock that isn't chickens. I am getting 3 St. Croix ewe lambs next spring and am looking into getting an LGD for livestock protection.

My biggest question right now is, can I train a puppy on poultry (I know it is a little different than training them on livestock) and then transfer that training to the sheep next year?

I found what looks like an Anatolian shepherd at a local shelter and have been in contact with the sheep breeder I am getting the lambs from and she gets rescue Pyrenees and trains them.

I am also a certified dog trainer and the training seems straightforward, but I am trying to understand it so I don't completely screw this dog up. 🤣

I have read a couple of the threads on here but I can't find anything on this particular subject.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Baymule

Herd Master
Reaction score
I would be cautious about a dog that “looks” like an Anatolian in a shelter. Chances are, it may not be. Anatolians are pretty intense dogs and can be a bit much for a LGD newbie. I started with Great Pyrenees, wonderful dogs. I’ve had 2 Great Pyrenees and currently have 3 Anatolians.

Since the lady you are getting the lambs from trains Great Pyrenees, I would recommend that you get one from her. You would have a much greater chance of having a good experience, plus having her as a mentor.

My first Great Pyrenees was a free chicken killer and I slowly transitioned her to the best chicken guard ever. We moved, got sheep and she “protected” me from them. She attacked. So it took time to train her to the sheep and once again, she made a fabulous sheep guardian. Mistreatment at her first home screwed her up. She was quirky, weird, a whole lot psycho, loved us fiercely, and killed snakes. Her name was Paris.